Mailgun supports a wide variety of capabilities as seen in the channel capabilities grid. Below is a detailed view of each capability.
Delivery events allow you to track deliveries of Sunshine Conversations messages to Mailgun by subscribing to the
conversation:message:delivery:channel webhook. Failures to deliver a message to Mailgun can be detected by subscribing to the
The Mailgun message IDs associated with each Sunshine Conversations message are available in delivery event payloads in the
If you don’t have a Mailgun Account, you can create one here.
You can use Mailgun’s sandbox while testing but to use email as a channel in production you’ll need to add and configure your domain in the Mailgun dashboard. Please refer to Mailgun’s documentation for more information.
While using the sandbox you can only send test messages to the authorized recipients in your Mailgun dashboard.
Your Mailgun Account will need to be able to configure inbound email routes from the receiving routes dashboard to allow filtering of inbound messages. Sunshine Conversations will configure an inbound email route when creating a Mailgun integration.
To get started, visit the Mailgun integration page and click Connect.
Visit the API Keys page of the Mailgun dashboard and copy paste your active API key in the API key box.
Choose the domain that you wish to use with Sunshine Conversations.
Input the incoming email address that you would like Sunshine Conversations to use. will receive all emails sent to this address. This address will also be used as the “Reply-To” address when a user replies to your messages.
Click on “Connect your Mailgun account”.
All messages sent using the Mailgun integration will include an unsubscribe link. If the user clicks on this link, they will be unsubscribed from the current conversation. You will no longer be able to send email messages to this user, but other channels will remain open. The platform will issue conversation:message:delivery:failure events when messages are sent to an unsubscribed user. You’ll also be notified while replying in any of your configured business systems.
If the user sends you a message after they have chosen to unsubscribe, a resubscription will automatically take place and you will be able to message that user again.