Only channels created by Smooch and having the prefix #sk- can accept the command “/sk”. The dispatch channel that you choose on our dashboard can’t be used to answer a customer directly.
When you integrate Slack with Smooch, we let you designate a channel to be the “dispatch” channel.
We will notify your team in this “dispatch” channel whenever a new conversation is created with a user. When a user sends you a message, we create a separate channel that starts with #sk-, this is where the conversation between your team and the user takes place. Anyone on your team can join a customer-specific channel by clicking on the link in the dispatch channel.
Inside a conversation channel, you can invite you teammate and speak freely with them. Once you’re ready to answer the user, type /sk followed by your message to send a reply.
There are three ways other team members can join a newly created Slack channel:
You receive a notification on your dispatch channel only if you have archived the conversation beforehand. Note also that the owner of the Slack is auto-invited to a Slack channel only once (after the first user’s message).
You can change it on our dashboard Overview > Scroll to Slack and click on it.
On our Slack integration page, you’ve selected a channel that we use to provide your team with new message notifications. Everyone in your team can join the channel.
If a user channel is archived, the next time you receive a message from that user this dispatch channel will get notified. The idea is once your teammate has sent the user response, or if they’ve left work for the day, they archive the channel so that Smooch knows to ping the team the next time the user sends a message.
We load avatars from gravatar.com. Each user on your Slack team may create a gravatar.com account with the same e-mail they use for Slack. We will then display the image they set as their gravatar to your customers whenever they reply.